Indiana Corn Marketing Council Announces New Farmer Directors

Two Hoosier corn farmers will join the Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC) board of directors in November to help direct programs that drive the success of the corn industry within the state. In addition to these new directors, three Hoosier corn farmers were re-elected to serve another term on the board during ICMC’s annual elections in August.

Mike Beard from Frankfort, Ind. and Herb Ringel from Wabash Ind. were elected to serve as new board members in the At-Large seats representing the entire state of Indiana. Current ICMC directors – Dean Eppley, Mike Shuter and David Gottbrath – return to the board to serve another term.

Eppley of Wabash, Ind. represents District 2, which includes Wabash, Miami, Cass, Carroll, Fulton, Kosciusko, Marshall, St. Joseph, and Elkhart counties.

Shuter of Frankton, Ind. represents District 5, which includes Grant, Howard, Tipton, Clinton, Hamilton, Madison, Hancock, Rush, Decatur, Bartholomew, Shelby, Marion, Johnson, Morgan, Hendricks, and Boone counties. Shuter currently serves as president of ICMC.

Gottbrath of Pekin, Ind. represents District 8, which includes Monroe, Brown, Lawrence, Jackson, Washington, Orange, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, and Perry counties.

ICMC works on behalf of corn farmers in Indiana who contribute to the corn checkoff. The ICMC Board of Directors is responsible for the investment of those checkoff funds. Under its five-year strategic plan, ICMC has focused on five major initiatives to help enhance the value of corn for Hoosier farmers. The main areas of investment are grain marketing, livestock, biofuels, production research and environmental programs, and new use innovation.

The recently elected farmer directors will begin serving on the ICMC board of directors in November 2012 and will serve a three-year term.

Source: ICMC

Recommended Posts