Senate Ag Committee Advances USDA Trade Nominee Taylor

U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chairwoman of the Senate Ag Committee, and Ranking Member John Boozman (R-Ark.), announced Tuesday that the committee voted to advance the nomination of Alexis Taylor to be Under Secretary for Trade and Foreign Agricultural Affairs at USDA. Her nomination now awaits consideration by the full Senate.

Taylor is currently the director of the Oregon Department of Agriculture. She was nominated by the Biden administration back in May.

The Ag Committee also advanced the nominations of Dr. Jose Emilio Esteban, of California, to be Under Secretary for Food Safety at USDA as well as Vincent Garfield Logan, of New York, to be a Member of the Farm Credit Administration Board.

The goal is to have final Senate confirmation for each by the end of the week.

“Dr. Jose Esteban, Vincent Logan, and Alexis Taylor have spent their careers as dedicated public servants and are proven to be highly qualified for these critical roles. Each of these nominees has strong bipartisan support, and I am looking forward to moving them quickly through the Senate,” said Senator Stabenow.

“I am pleased that the committee acted quickly after the hearing to move these three well-qualified nominees forward. From overseeing the safety of our nation’s food supply, to ensuring access to dependable sources of credit, to expanding market access overseas, Dr. Jose Esteban, Vincent Logan and Alexis Taylor will help guide missions that are essential to our family farmers and ranchers. I am confident they are up to the task and look forward to working with each of them should they receive Senate confirmation,” said Ranking Member Boozman.


Recommended Posts