Indiana Well Represented in Puerto Rico at Farm Bureau Convention

Indiana Farm Bureau President Randy Kron told Hoosier Ag Today Monday that they were very “Indiana Farm Bureau proud” after the success of the Young Farmers competition participants. Hamilton County native Rachel Hyde finished 4th in the Discussion Meet while Carter and Abby Morgan from Vermillion County placed in the top 10 for the Excellence in Agriculture Award.
The Discussion Meet simulates a committee meeting in which active discussion and participation are expected. Participants are evaluated on their ability to exchange ideas and information on a predetermined topic. Hyde received a Case IH-branded Solo Stove for her 4th place finish, valued at over $1,000.
Kron added, “I couldn’t be prouder of both of those farm operations and individuals for what they’ve done.”
Also in Puerto Rico, Isabella Chism, 2nd vice president of Indiana Farm Bureau, was reelected chair of the American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. “I am truly honored to continue in this role representing members across the country,” said Chism. “Women in agriculture are passionate advocates and have always been equal partners on our nation’s family farms. It is a privilege to lead a committee that develops and empowers women to be leaders in their communities, supporting the mission and policy of Farm Bureau members across the country.”
The AFBF Women’s Leadership program provides women with leadership training, communication skills and networking opportunities to strengthen their ability to encourage positive change in their communities and in the agricultural industry. Two examples of key programs spearheaded by the committee include the biannual Women’s Communication Boot Camp and the annual Women’s Washington D.C. fly-in.

Recommended Posts