The Indiana Forage Council to Host ‘Heart of America Grazing Conference’

The Indiana Forage Council (IFC) is hosting The Heart of America Grazing Conference on Feb. 20 and 21 at the Ferdinand Community Center in Ferdinand in DuBois County. The annual event, held in collaboration with Purdue Extension, will feature forage and grazing experts from across the nation.
Highlighted speakers will lead discussions on cutting-edge research in grazing, soil science and grazing options with cattle and small ruminants, among other key topics.
Jason Tower, superintendent of the Southern Indiana Purdue Agricultural Center, and Ronald Boehm of Boehm Farms are featured speakers.
“The 2023 conference will be an excellent opportunity for producers and educators to expand their knowledge of grazing and soil management. Improving these skill sets can have a positive impact not only on livestock performance but also on the environment,” Tower said.
Boehm said, “The timing of the conference works well for the attendees to take their newly gained knowledge back home and begin to plan for implementation as they strive to refine their operations toward their goals of livestock husbandry, financial success and environmental stewardship.”
Additional speakers include Greg Halich, University of Kentucky; Alan Franzluebbers, USDA-ARS North Carolina; and Johnny Rogers, coordinator of the Amazing Grazing Project and North Carolina State University.
“Attending the Heart of America Grazing Conference is an invaluable opportunity to network with forage-livestock input providers at the trade show, and networking with participants that have an interest in pasture improvement has value, too,” said Keith Johnson, a professor of agronomy in Purdue University’s College of Agriculture.
The Indiana Forage Council (IFC) is dedicated to research and education for profitable forage production and utilization. IFC was incorporated as a not-for-profit organization in 1966 and is an affiliate member of the American Forage and Grassland Council.
Click HERE for registration information and event details.
Photo above: The Indiana Forage Council Board of Directors. From left to right are Director Justin Waldrip, Vice–President Anna Morrow, Senior Vice-President of the American Forage and Grassland Council Jason Tower, Director Ronnie Boehm, Director Brock Kiesler, President Elysia Rodgers, Director Chris Merkel, Director Nick Minton, Director Keith Greiwe, and Secretary Keith Johnson.
Source: Purdue Agricultural Communications.

Recommended Posts